Craig Webre
Craig Webre (1992-present)

On July 1, 1992, Craig Webre raised his hand and took the oath of office as the new Sheriff of Lafourche Parish. After a hard fought battle against a 16-year incumbent, at the age of 30, Webre became one of the youngest Sheriff’s to ever hold office in Louisiana. He assembled a team of dedicated peace officers and loyal office personnel to begin the trek toward accomplishment and accountability in the Sheriff’s Office.

A lifelong resident of Lafourche Parish, Webre began his law enforcement career by becoming a police officer for the City of Thibodaux. From the Thibodaux Police Department, Webre joined the Lafourche Parish Sheriff’s Office and thereafter went to work for the Louisiana State Police where he worked as a State Trooper for nine years.

He did all this while continuing his education. While a senior in law school, Webre offered himself as a candidate for Sheriff of Lafourche Parish and defeated a 16-year incumbent. In May of 1992, Webre graduated from law school, and two months later he was sworn in as Sheriff. Shortly thereafter, he successfully completed the Louisiana State Bar Exam.

During his tenure, Sheriff Webre established the Lafourche Parish Sheriff’s Office’s Bicycle Patrol and implemented the first rural Weed and Seed Program in a high crime area. Lafourche Crime Stoppers (now Crime Stoppers Bayou Region), Pre-trial Home Incarceration, Drug Court, and Misdemeanor Probation were other programs initiated by Sheriff Webre. For the youth, he established a Summer Camp, college scholarship, and the Explorer program, along with the Christmas Bicycle Giveaway for the underprivileged.

Under his leadership, the Lafourche Parish Sheriff’s Office became one of only four sheriff’s offices in Louisiana to achieve National Accreditation under the watchful eye of the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies (CALEA). In 2015, the Lafourche Sheriff’s Office was re-accredited with excellence – CALEA’s “Gold Standard” for accreditation. The LPSO Transitional Work Program maintains National Accreditation by the American Correctional Association.

Work Experience

  • Sheriff of Lafourche Parish (1992-present)
  • Adams & Reese: Law Clerk (May 1991-August 1991)
  • Louisiana State Police: Trooper First Class (January 1982-May 1991)
  • Lafourche Parish Sheriff’s Office: Deputy (September 1980-January 1982)
  • Thibodaux Police Department: Patrolman (January 1980-September 1980)

Teaching Experience

  • National Sheriff’s Institute (1999-2004)
    • Presenter: “Power & Influence of the Office of the Sheriff”
  • Loyola University New Orleans (2001-present)
    • Adjunct Professor: Criminal Justice Master’s Program
  • Nicholls State University (1998-present)
    • Adjunct Professor: Criminal Justice, Department of Government


  • Loyola University New Orleans College of Law
    • Juris Doctor, Law, 1992
  • Loyola University New Orleans
    • Bachelor’s Degree, Criminal Justice
  • Nicholls State University
    • Associate’s Degree, Criminal Justice
  • Thibodaux High School
  • National Sheriff’s Institute
    • Graduate, Class President for 2 Years

Awards & Honors

  • 2017 When Work Works Award for Exemplary Workplace Practices
  • 2016 Best Dressed Public Safety Uniform
  • 2015 Louisiana Justice Hall of Fame Inductee
  • 2015 Bufford Pusser National Law Enforcement Officer of the Year
  • 2014 Public Official of the Year – National Association of Social Workers, Louisiana Chapter
  • 2013 Public Official of the Year – National Association of Social Workers, Houma-Thibodaux Region
  • 2010 NHTSA Public Service Award for DDACTS Program
  • 2009 Award for Professional Innovation in Victim Services – U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Victims of Crimes
  • 2009 Tadini Bacigalupi Program of Distinction Award for Police Social Services – National Organization for Victim Assistance
  • 2008 Neighborhood Watch Award for Excellence by a Sheriff’s Office – National Neighborhood Watch
  • 2008 Excellence in Victim Services Award – International Association of Chiefs of Police
  • 2007 Community Service Award – National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, Lafourche Chapter
  • 2005 Crime Victim Services Award – National Sheriffs Association
  • 2005 Outstanding Organization Award – Louisiana Association of Victims and Citizens Against Crime
  • 2005 Program of the Year – Thibodaux Rotary Club
  • 2004 “Keep the Dream Alive” Award – Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Committee
  • 2002 Sheriff of the Year – Louisiana Association of Victims and Citizens Against Crime
  • 2001 Criminal Justice Award  – Louisiana Attorney General
  • 1999-2000 Champion of Children Award – Raceland Upper Elementary School
  • 1996 Certificate of Appreciation for 10 Years of Service – Mothers Against Drunk Driving
  • 1992 “Distinguished Fellow” Designation – University of New Orleans, Government Leadership Institute
  • Sheriff’s Humanitarian Award – Alabama Sheriff’s Association

Professional Affiliations

  • National Sheriff’s Association
    • President (2007-2008) – also served prior as 1st Vice President, 2nd Vice President, 3rd Vice President, 4th Vice President, 5th Vice President, and Sergeant-At-Arms
  • Louisiana Sheriff’s Association
  • CALEA (Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies)
    • Vice President / Vice Chair (current)
    • Commissioner
  • Gulf States Regional Community Policing Institute
    • Regional Governing Board Chairman (2001-present)
  • Southeast Louisiana Criminalistics Laboratory Commission
    • Chairman
  • Metropolitan Law Enforcement Commission
    • Board Member
  • Lafourche Parish Bar Association
  • Terrebonne Parish Bar Association
  • Louisiana Commission on Law Enforcement
  • Louisiana Sheriff’s Pension and Relief Fund
    • Executive Board Member (1997-1998)
    • Board Member (1994-1995)

Other Memberships

  • American Probation and Parole Association
  • American Correctional Association
  • Bayou Industrial Group, Inc.
  • Council for a Better Louisiana (CABL)
  • Friends of Lafourche Parish Drug Court Foundation
  • International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP)
  • Lafourche Parish Prevention Partnership
  • Law Enforcement Executive Development Association (LEEDA)
  • Louisiana Cattleman’s Association
  • Louisiana Sheriff’s Association
  • Masonic Lodge #307
  • National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)
  • Nicholls State University Alumni Association
  • Professional in Pretrial Services Association
  • Public Affairs Research (PAR) Council
  • Thibodaux Beautification Coalition
  • Thibodaux Quarterback Club
  • Thibodaux Rotary Club
  • Veterans of Vietnam War, Inc.
  • Volunteers of the Juvenile Justice Center